P&P’s Victorian Alter-Egos

18 Apr

Yesterday, our Gchat took a strange digression.

Penny found this blog post on Freshly Pressed about being called “ma’am” and all attendant young, modern female frustration and WHY can’t we just have a gender neutral pronoun already?!?!? (Ok, the gender neutral pronoun is totally a P&P addition to this sentiment and we are ALL FOR IT.)

The poster suggested “m’lady” as an all-age substitute.

We don’t even know what happened next, but it was too good not to share. We therefore present to you P&P’s Victorian Lives (and rapid class descension).

Hint: Neither of us is Queen Victoria (Emily Blunt). ((Gahhhhh. I want to be Emily Blunt. Doesn’t everyone want to be Emily Blunt? Hysterically funny. Talented. British. Beautiful?????!?!??!)) (((Married to John Krasinski?????!?!?!?!?!?!))) Photo Credit: Young Victoria

Polly: Well m’lady implies possession, but I agree with the sentiment. I detest being called ma’am. In no universe should I be a ma’am. I wouldn’t even be that spinster-y by Victorian standards.

Penny: Ehhhhh… we’re teetering on the edge of unmarriageable.

Polly: We’d just have to weasel our way into an arrangement through first being a governess.

Penny: Hahahha would we be educated enough to be governesses? And anyway, we aren’t complete antidotes – I honestly think both of us would be married by now.

Polly: Probably.

WELL

No.

Penny: ??

Polly: Without cosmetic dentistry, no one would have gotten near this face.

Penny: HAHA Polly. It’s the nineteenth century; no one has good teeth.

I’d probably be Mrs. Baker.

Polly: I’d be Mrs. Butcher. Or Mrs. Cheesemonger.

Penny: Actually, given where I grew up, I would be Mrs. Farmer.

Polly: In that case I’d be Mrs. Miner, and I’d be a young widow.

Penny: I’d have as many children as chickens.

…Maybe I wasn’t born in the wrong century

Polly: Perspective.

Penny: Hahah seriously.

I mean, whenever I say I was born in the wrong century, it’s with the working assumption that I would have been born to a privileged, intellectual family.

But… if we transported our modern economy back to the nineteenth century… I’m a maid, mopping up those intellectual laboratories. Maybe if I knew how to read and write and worked for a very progressive non-existent female scientist, I’d get to be her amanuensis.

Polly: Hmm.

What would be the Victorian equivalent of a data systems engineer?

Probably a ship builder or something.

So, I’d be a maid as well because it of course all comes down to what our fathers do.

Penny: Oh, well my father is a teacher/university professor. So, I might be solidly middle class, even for Victorian England. (Editor’s Note: HA! England. Notice how we assume we also changed nationalities?) But his father was a farmer. So. I don’t know how that would work, really, because it’s the modern economy that allows for more class mobility.

Thence followed lots of philosophical-ish discussion about the class system, capitalism, feminism, and lots of other isms.

***

How we imagine our Victorian Selves versus the reality of our Victorian Selves:

Imagination

Reality. (Again, still not Emily Blunt.)

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Furor Scribendi

the rage for writing

highfiverson

Just another WordPress.com site

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

I'm Just Sayin'

Are You SURE I Don't Get Paid for This?

The Hand-Written Life

The Official Website of Andrea Kelly

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

J-Bo.net

Life at 30: The Unadulterated Truth

Blurg.

this is Val.

Can I Get Ur Number?

Answering the question "Why Am I Single?" one post at a time...

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

