Textspectations

4 Apr

images

The texts

Circe (SMS): 8pm is fine, the awesome karaoke starts at 9:30 so hope you’re preparing a song.

How I wanted him to respond, without missing a beat:

Nye-al* (SMS): I’m actually taking off the next 2 days of work to practice my falsetto in preparation for my panty-dropping rendition of ‘I Believe a Thing Called Love’.

How he actually responded, 12 hours later:

Nye-al (SMS): Ha. I had already forgotten that it’s a karaoke place. Thanks for the heads up. See you there!

The analysis

Really? You can only manage one “Ha?” Does that mean I’m only half funny? When I say something clever, I like to be acknowledged for my unparalleled wit. Also, did you think I was actually kidding? Because I wasn’t. My rendition of Goodbye Earl is gonna be legen….wait for it…dary. Already picked out my rhinestone cowboy boots and matching shovel. Everyone knows karaoke is all about the accessories.

I swear to gods, if he gets up there and starts singing some half-assed, unchoreographed, unaccessorized rendition of  Arms Wide Open by Creed, or really anything by Creed, I will hit him over the head with my shovel.

The conclusion

Penny:  Really, we are too clever** – imagining conversations in our heads with boys never works out well for the boys in real life.

Polly: Feel it out for a while. Sometimes guys can be too witty. And then you can’t tell if he’s quoting something or he actually has a pet snake named Reggie.

*We’ve named him Niall, which is probably pronounced Neil, but which we persist in pronouncing NYE-AL.

**This originally read “smart and erudite” which led to a discussion on finding a less-erudite word for erudite, just in case anyone was wondering.

2 Responses to “Textspectations”

  1. highfiverson April 5, 2013 at 10:46 am #

    yup – gotta have a karaoke song in your back pocket! Mine is ‘Faith’ by George Michael…. dance moves are included. So what if I have a man voice? And yes… I practice.

    • Circe April 8, 2013 at 8:22 am #

      Ooo “Faith” is a classic! One of my favorite songs ever, and I’m not even ashamed to admit it. Might have to try that one next time!

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Furor Scribendi

the rage for writing

highfiverson

Just another WordPress.com site

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

I'm Just Sayin'

Are You SURE I Don't Get Paid for This?

The Hand-Written Life

The Official Website of Andrea Kelly

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

J-Bo.net

The Unadulterated Truth

Blurg.

this is Val.

Can I Get Ur Number?

Answering the question "Why Am I Single?" one post at a time...

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

