MOH Adventures – Getting the dress.

2 Nov

One of my oldest, dearest, closest friends is getting married this summer. The venerable distinction, Maid of Honor, has been lovingly bestowed upon… me. This title usually requires a great deal of work and involvement, but for my nearest and dearest I will gladly sacrifice sleep and manicures in the name of lurrrrrrve.

Fortunately for me, my sleep, my opinion of this “engagement”, and the hypothetical manicure I would love to hypothetically maintain, my friend is a lovable control freak with a very clear vision – most of the planning is finished, and she doesn’t even have the ring yet (to be clear: the engagement ring; she doesn’t yet have the engagement ring) ((ugh, long story; see earlier opinion)).

Living several states away, I missed the bridal party party back in June where everyone tried on bridesmaids dresses and drank champagne and joked about mothers-in-law. The fact that I’ve put off buying my MOH dress this long is more than a tad indicative of my feelings towards this union in general. But whether or not I support the marriage, I do support my friend’s decisions and want to be there for her on the big day. So this morning (hooray for Sandy-related extended work closures!) ((and my island of electricity)) I’ll be sucking up my opinions, dragging myself to David’s Bridal, and trying on the royal blue maternity prom nightmare she picked out. (They make these things hideous on purpose.)

Truthbomb? I have terrible luck and part of me is hoping that only after I drop $200 to buy this thing and have it altered to accomodate my unusual dimensions so I can’t return it ever, there will be some explosive breakup and the whole thing will be over. So stay tuned for a recounting of my reluctant MOH adventures.

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Furor Scribendi

the rage for writing

highfiverson

Just another WordPress.com site

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

I'm Just Sayin'

Are You SURE I Don't Get Paid for This?

The Hand-Written Life

The Official Website of Andrea Kelly

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

J-Bo.net

The Unadulterated Truth

Blurg.

this is Val.

Can I Get Ur Number?

Answering the question "Why Am I Single?" one post at a time...

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

