Halloween Overkill Waffles

31 Oct

Or, How Many Tasty Nouns Can I Fit in One Breakfast?

Or, What Happens When Polly and Aunt Flow are Stuck in Her Apartment for Three Days

I’m endlessly lucky that my power didn’t go out once amidst all this hurricane havoc. But after watching House Hunters International for so many hours I started to get a little stir-crazy. And that’s when my inventive side kicked in. When I was little I used to spend hours on rainy days combining the realms of Barbies and My Little Ponies. They were all dressed and styled fabulously. Skipper and Starlight were bffs. But now I’m a grown up and I either play with food or paint chips.

So at 11:30 yesterday morning when I was tired of watching tv in bed after four hours, I dragged my sweatpants-covered butt to the kitchen and decided to throw everything I had into a seasonal waffle of joy. And for those who don’t want to consume their entire day’s calories in one intensely loaded magic waffle, take a look at the healthier variation.

Jam-filled Apple Cider Pumpkin Snickers Milky Way Three Musketeers Waffles

Storm Trooper spatula was a Christmas gift from Molly. The gift that keeps on giving!

Ingredients:

(Makes 4 8″ waffles)

2 cups Trader Joes Pumpkin Pancake mix
4 tbsp melted butter (1/4 stick)
3/4 cup water
3/4 cup apple cider
2 eggs
3 tbsp jam (I used strawberry-blueberry jam, but just pick your favorite!)
6 pieces of assorted funsize chocolate candy, chopped into chocolate-chip sized pieces (I used Snickers, Milky Way, and Three Musketeers… as referenced in the title.)

For a different (read: laaaame) autumnal waffle experience, replace the jam and chocolate candy with 1/2 an apple, peeled and chopped.

Directions:

Preheat waffle iron. Place waffle mix into a large bowl. In a separate bowl, combine melted butter, water, cider, and lightly beaten eggs. Gradually add the wet mixture to the waffle mix and stir until large lumps are gone.

Spray A LOT of Pam or other cooking spray onto your waffle iron. This stuff is sticky. Pour batter until waffle iron is half covered. Spoon jam as evenly as possible onto waffle iron. (It’s ok if it isn’t perfectly even, it will spread out when you close the iron.) Place candy bits evenly around the waffle iron. Pour more batter on top of the jam and candy. Close the waffle iron. Remove when the waffle is golden brown and smells like fall heaven. Eat waffley bliss. Pass out from diabetic coma.

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Furor Scribendi

the rage for writing

highfiverson

Just another WordPress.com site

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

I'm Just Sayin'

Are You SURE I Don't Get Paid for This?

The Hand-Written Life

The Official Website of Andrea Kelly

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

J-Bo.net

The Unadulterated Truth

Blurg.

this is Val.

Can I Get Ur Number?

Answering the question "Why Am I Single?" one post at a time...

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

