CLU – Non-lies and the Slow Fade

3 Oct

Ghosting, as previously discussed, is an abhorrent but extremely tempting method of divesting oneself of unwanted suitors.

Now I would like to present to you the perfectly executed Slow Fade.

But first, to recap my Caffeinated Love Affair: There was this boy who works at Starbucks. We flirted. He wrote his number on my coffee cup. We went on a date. A good friend ran his court records. We met for the in-person let-down. I found a new Starbucks.

(Well, actually, I found an independent coffee shop with not-burnt coffee. But I’m getting ahead of myself.)

Our second “date” and the in-person let-down happened on Thursday during happy hour.

Slow Fade Step 1:

Latte Boy: Well, you don’t have to stop going to Starbucks. I won’t make things awkward for you.

Penny: Thanks! It’s actually about time for me to stop coming in anyway. I can make my own hot coffee; so, I wouldn’t be coming in anymore in a few weeks regardless.

[Note: Perfectly plausible excuse for why he is no longer seeing me around.]

Slow Fade Step 2:

Because it was still iced coffee weather, I returned to Starbucks on Friday morning and then again on Monday. Neither day found Latte Boy behind the bar. Judging my duty done (presence hopefully noted by his coworkers), I began patronizing my new independent coffee shop with the fair trade coffee and went about my aspiring hipster way.

Slow Fade Step 3:

Latte Boy (SMS): I hope you don’t feel that you can’t come to my Starbucks anymore. You’re still very welcome here. :) [grammar and punctuation – but not the emoticon – mine.]

Penny (SMS): Oh, thanks! I’ve been a few times, but I don’t think you were working. I have a coffee maker with a timer at home, so… [Note: 1. The friendly tone, 2. The reference to Step 1, 3. The not outright lie. I do have a coffee maker with a timer. I just haven’t figured out how to use it yet.]

Latte Boy (SMS): Hah sounds about right. I took a week off to visit family And nothing wrong with saving money where you can!

Slow Fade Step 4:

In about two weeks I will delete Latte Boy from my online friend lists and both of our lives will resume their very separate courses after barely a blip on the emotional radar.

5 Responses to “CLU – Non-lies and the Slow Fade”

  1. Molpadia (Molly) October 3, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

    This is what separates real life from the movies. In the movies, Latte Boy would have been a prince trying to find true love without his suitors knowing he was royalty. Oh wait, that’s that new TLC show I’ve been dying to watch, Secret Princes. It’s a reality show so it must be real. MAYBE LATTE BOY IS ACTUALLY A PRINCE. Don’t give up, Pen!

    • Hippolyta (Polly) October 3, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

      In lieu of handy Facebook-type affirmation interfaces, I shall simply type: LIKE.

      I haven’t seen it yet, still catching up on Abby and Brittany, but I can tell it’s going to be a gem.

      • Molpadia (Molly) October 3, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

        I haven’t seen it yet either, but I’m sure P and P will know about it when I do.

    • Sotorya (Tory) October 4, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

      Man the one guy on that show is really really pretty. I haven’t watched it, because I kind of want to continue to think he is pretty, and also witty, charming and a feminist.

      Don’t tell me if it isn’t true. Don’t ruin my dreams of having both a tiara AND an equal partner relationship *swoon*

  2. Can I Get ur Number?? October 3, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    you’re a genius. my method is to generally just be as awkward as possible… not on purpose, but just because i’m that awkward. i need to start taking notes.
    -S

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Furor Scribendi

the rage for writing

highfiverson

Just another WordPress.com site

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

I'm Just Sayin'

Are You SURE I Don't Get Paid for This?

The Hand-Written Life

The Official Website of Andrea Kelly

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

J-Bo.net

Life at 30: The Unadulterated Truth

Blurg.

this is Val.

Can I Get Ur Number?

Answering the question "Why Am I Single?" one post at a time...

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

