Universalities

2 Oct

This past weekend Tory invited me to her anual family reunion in The Middle of Nowhere. It was a lovely weekend filled with roadtrip fast food, better homemade food, wonderful people, and a gaggle of minicousins who really enjoyed when I spun them on the tire swing.*

But I must say, the big take-away from the trip was the realization that despite generational gaps, differences in cultural upbringings, and disparities in values, there are some universal beliefs that connect us all.

Tory’s Grandmother: I’ve been learning how to use Facebook!
Polly: Wow, really?! My Nana has never even been on a computer.
Tory’s Grandmother: It’s a nice way to keep in touch.
Polly: Yes, I love how I can stay connected to my friends who live really far away!
Tory’s Grandmother: But some people have too many pictures of their babies on the Timeline. A few pictures is nice, but some people put up pictures every day. I don’t care for it.
Polly: Word, Tory’s Grandmother. Word.

*If anyone is looking for an irregular pectoral workout, spinning 2-3 children on a tire swing will leave you surprisingly sore the next day.

One Response to “Universalities”

  1. Sotorya (Tory) October 4, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    1) My mini-cousins LOVED you
    2) My same age as me cousin LOVED you
    3) My grandparents LOVVEEEEEE you.
    4) My Me-Ma is the BEST isn’t she? Also, I love that she hid my one cousin from her feed because too much babies. She’d rather read my feminist rants and Nerdy ramblings than your babies. HA.

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Furor Scribendi

the rage for writing

highfiverson

Just another WordPress.com site

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

I'm Just Sayin'

Are You SURE I Don't Get Paid for This?

The Hand-Written Life

The Official Website of Andrea Kelly

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

J-Bo.net

The Unadulterated Truth

Blurg.

this is Val.

Can I Get Ur Number?

Answering the question "Why Am I Single?" one post at a time...

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

