Self-actualizing, brb.

27 Sep

“I just need to get a feel for your voice, so bring whatever you use for auditions.”

Oh, auditions? I’m flattered you think I have the discipline and motivation to throw myself into a life of that kind of overwhelming uncertainty, but no. I just really love to sing and my car arias to and from my 9-6 (plus overtime) job ((with benefits)) isn’t cutting it any more.

I do not possess that discipline. In the year and a half since Penny and I shared our undergraduate final recital, I haven’t taken any measures to improve my musical abilities. In fact I’ve only observed my range and talent slowly shrink. Which is why, starting yesterday, I will be paying way more than my budget allows for classical vocal training on every-other-Wednesday evening. Get ready, Verdi. I’m back!

Though my mother might not understand why I’d blow $170 a month for something that has no bearing whatsoever on my chosen career, I know I’d be unhappy if Singing and I continued to grow apart. Maybe it’s fiscally irresponsible, and maybe I won’t have any outlets to publicly showcase my work, and maybe I’m desperately clinging to those years where I could study one thing and be intensely involved in eighteen other extracurricular pursuits and hope that one day I will find that rare niche where all my talents coincide (if only traveling bards were more in-demand!) but I don’t care. I’m not getting back into voice lessons because I think I have a future in performing. I’m doing this for my soul and no one can tell me not to.

4 Responses to “Self-actualizing, brb.”

  1. Molpadia (Molly) October 3, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

    I may shortly follow suit, and once I do I vote we start an Amazon Warrior Queen Choir. Thoughts?

    • Hippolyta (Polly) October 4, 2012 at 11:32 am #

      Yes, only if our uniforms can be the same for Pink Enigma.

  2. Sotorya (Tory) October 4, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    I can’t sing, but I can photograph you! We all need to do the things we love, regardless of whether they garner funds for us. I may not make money with my photography, but I will never stop doing it.

    Nor should you stop singing. Ever. You have a voice like Mary Poppins. Even the birds stop to listen

  3. Kaley October 23, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    Pretty nice piece… just saying…

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Furor Scribendi

the rage for writing

highfiverson

Just another WordPress.com site

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

I'm Just Sayin'

Are You SURE I Don't Get Paid for This?

The Hand-Written Life

The Official Website of Andrea Kelly

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

J-Bo.net

Life at 30: The Unadulterated Truth

Blurg.

this is Val.

Can I Get Ur Number?

Answering the question "Why Am I Single?" one post at a time...

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

