CLU – I need a new Starbucks

21 Sep

Curiosity is my besetting sin.

I just had to know about the ex-wife.

Just had to.

So, I resisted the urge to ghost and met Latte Boy for drinks and the in-person ‘let-down’.

Not five minutes into happy hour…

Latte Boy: So, what are you looking for in a relationship?

Dear reader, there are some topics of conversation you just do not bring up during the first 3-5 dates. These topics include: 1. Where the relationship is heading, 2. Religion, 3. Politics, 4. Children, 5. Anything heavy…

Latte Boy missed the memo.

For what position I was being interviewed, I’m not precisely sure, (wife? girlfriend? therapist??) but topics and questions included:

  1. “I’m divorced from my highschool sweetheart and she wrecked me” led to
  2. “My first year of marriage was the best of my life… until I find someone with whom to have a lifetime of happiness.” (Intimation – you, Penny! You!!) However,
  3. (Paraphrased) “Ex-wife was an unfeeling bitch who made me want to kill myself.” (!!!) And also,
  4. “My family didn’t have a lot of money growing up.” So, he really needs to know…
  5. “Are you liberal or conservative?” as well as
  6. “Are you religious?” (Cue exwife-induced existential crisis.) Before proceeding to go on about
  7. “Myers-Biggs” personality types* and how
  8. “I’m an emotional guy.” (No shit, Sherlock.) Before asking,
  9. “Do you want to have kids?” (?!?!?!!!! No. I like to give them back.)

*Yes, I know – Myers-Briggs.

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Furor Scribendi

the rage for writing

highfiverson

Just another WordPress.com site

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

I'm Just Sayin'

Are You SURE I Don't Get Paid for This?

The Hand-Written Life

The Official Website of Andrea Kelly

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

J-Bo.net

The Unadulterated Truth

Blurg.

this is Val.

Can I Get Ur Number?

Answering the question "Why Am I Single?" one post at a time...

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

