The self-absorbed art of the Mixtape

20 Sep

Polly: Then Oxford Comma said, “Is it too early to make you a mixtape?” and I said “Of course not!” to which he replied, “Great, because I already did.”
Penny: And this was the night before your first date?
Polly: Yes.
Penny: That is too soon. You just met a month ago.
Polly: But it’s ok because he said he made it but he isn’t going to give it to me yet.
Penny: …
Polly: So that’s why I made him one last night that he also can’t have yet.
Penny: If I didn’t love you so much I’d hate you. You know that, right?

Penny is absolutely correct. A month and only a handful of in-person encounters does not equip someone with the familiarity necessary to construct a playlist of songs that reminds them of the other person. And giving someone a mixtape too early in the courtship process can move things in a serious direction too quickly. After all, how can you fill about sixty minutes without including at least one song about eternal, unconditional, consuming love?

Here is my theory: One does not make mixtapes for or about someone else. One makes mixtapes to serve as an introduction to their own personality. And with that understanding, the beginning of a courtship is the perfect time for exchanging music. Song lyrics should be strictly taken as an insight to the mix-er’s taste and not as an indicator of present sentiments.

“Bowel-shaking earthquakes of doubt and remorse/ Assail him, impale him with monster-truck force.” (The Distance, Cake) I am not trying to comunicate anything about my digestive shortcomings and I do not follow NASCAR. Mostly I really enjoy Cake’s use of a Melodica in this song.

“This is a love attack.” (Walking on the Sun, Smash Mouth) No, I am not actually attacking you with love. I just like to listen to this song when all the windows in my car are rolled down.

“I tip on alligators and little rattle snakers/ But I’m another flavor/ Something like a terminator.” (Tightrope, Janelle Monae) This song makes me dance a lot. I do not support animal cruelty and do not desire to live in the robotic, dystopian future of Archandroid.

“The thrill of the thought that you might give a thought/ to my plea casts a spell over me.”  (You Go to my Head, Rufus Wainwright covering Judy Garland) Actually, that’s about right.

And just because it’s fun:

2 Responses to “The self-absorbed art of the Mixtape”

  1. Molpadia (Molly) October 3, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

    THAT LINE FROM SMASH MOUTH IS MY FAVORITE LINE! I think it was in my aim profile, and that’s saying something.

  2. Sotorya (Tory) October 4, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    I like this theory about mix tapes. Truly.

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Furor Scribendi

the rage for writing

highfiverson

Just another WordPress.com site

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

I'm Just Sayin'

Are You SURE I Don't Get Paid for This?

The Hand-Written Life

The Official Website of Andrea Kelly

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

J-Bo.net

The Unadulterated Truth

Blurg.

this is Val.

Can I Get Ur Number?

Answering the question "Why Am I Single?" one post at a time...

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

