Three Consciences is a Crowd

10 Sep

Polly’s Dating Advice: Don’t schedule a first date at a time when most of your ladyfriends are drinking without you.

Preface: My date was LOVELY and Oxford Comma was a GENTLEMAN and my HONOR was not COMPROMISED and I LOVE my FRIENDS but they can CALM DOWN SOMETIMES.

Texts from my Collective Consciences:

Molly: How’s it going? We wanna knowwwwwwwwwww.
Molly: Love BFFL-1, BFFL-A, and me.
Molly: Heeellllooooooooooooo.
Molly: BFFL-A is mad at you/really happy for you.
Molly: BFFL-1 says she better not beat you to your apartment tomorrow afternoon.
Molly: I say “Ssssssllllluuuuuuttttttt” but facetiously.
Molly: Take it slow, woman!
Molly: Said the good shoulder angel.
BFFL-1: Consensus says kiss goodnight, walk away, TAKE IT SLOW.
Molly: Youuuuuuu don’t do anything I wouldn’t!
Molly: Again, kiss goodnight, walk away, take it slow say your three best friends.
BFFL-A: Even though you didn’t tell me anything I’m jumping on the badwagon and saying TAKE IT SLOW. Enjoy the romance!
BFFL-1: Stay with one of us tonight! BFFL-A has a whole extra bedroom.
Molly: Pollyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
BFFL-A: Stay at my place tonight :)
Molly: yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy.
Molly: You have three possible crash pads tonight, Pol.
BFFL-A: Are you ok to drive home? I always love it when you stay at Chateau BFFL!
Molly: Ssssslllluuuutttt.
BFFL-A: Seriously, though. Crash with me if you don’t feel like going all the way home!
Molly: Going to bed but CALL ME IF YOU NEED A PLACE TO SLEEP.
Molly: ALL CAPS = SERIOUS MOLLY.
Molly: LET YOUR CONSCIENCE/ME BE YOUR GUIDE.

Real Conversation:

Oxford Comma: Is everything ok? Your phone is going crazy.
Polly: Sorry, my ladyfriends are out together and they are all apparently EXTREMELY worried about my safety/honor.
Oxford Comma: So, there is a gaggle of women somewhere in the city whom I’ve never met that are highly concerned with my behavior tonight?
Polly: Yes.
Oxford Comma: Should I be frightened?
Polly: Haha, no. Well probably.

My fairygodmothers, on the other hand, will be forgiven. But sometimes I like to sleep:

Penny: !?!!!??????!!!!?!?
Penny: Dying of curiosity!
Penny: Did he MURDER you?
Tory: Hope you had fun!
Tory: Good morning!
Tory: Also please reassure me that you weren’t killed and left on the side of the road!

6 Responses to “Three Consciences is a Crowd”

  1. Penthesilea (Penny) September 10, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    I promise to exempt you from the you-texted-after-10pm-and-woke-me-up-prepare-to-die rule if you promise to always let me know you get home safely after dates with men you barely know. (Thus avoiding MY waking YOU up the next morning.)

    • Hippolyta (Polly) September 10, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

      Exemption accepted.

  2. Molpadia (Molly) September 10, 2012 at 5:05 pm #

    Sorry, Polly. ::hangs head in shame::

    Drinking and living vicariously and texting should never happen at the same time.

  3. Sotorya (Tory) September 10, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

    SEE! I was good.

  4. BFFL-1/Ephesos (Effie) September 11, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    We LOOOOOOOOOOOVE you

    • Hippolyta (Polly) September 12, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

      Love you tooooo. And at least I know that the authorities will definitely be alerted in a timely manner if I’m ever abducted on a date :)

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Furor Scribendi

the rage for writing

highfiverson

Just another WordPress.com site

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

I'm Just Sayin'

Are You SURE I Don't Get Paid for This?

The Hand-Written Life

The Official Website of Andrea Kelly

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

J-Bo.net

The Unadulterated Truth

Blurg.

this is Val.

Can I Get Ur Number?

Answering the question "Why Am I Single?" one post at a time...

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

