“When I grow up…” And other texts that won’t be answered

31 Aug

Back when I was living with Circe on Aeaea we ran into some sailors with really unique… aspirations.

These are their texts.

SMS Adventures with Unfortunately Smug Sailor 1

USS1: Hey, it’s USS1. I had a really great time last night. You seem like a really cool girl. Could you read my essay for me?
Penny: Sure. My email is penandpol@gmail.com.
USS1: Thanks! Ur awesome.
Penny: Mmmhm. When do you need it by?
USS1: Oh, like wed so i can make final revisions?
Penny: Ok. I’ll look at it tonight.
USS1: Great! I really want to take u to dinner.

Two hours later
USS1: So, how’s that essay coming?
Penny: I can’t look at it until tonight. I have work.
USS1: Oh, right. Well, could you look at it sooner than later?

Meanwhile
Penny: You. Have. Got. To. Be. Kidding. Me.
Circe: ??
Penny: You know that tall, dark and handsome sailor to whom you volunteered my editing services? <<sends screenshot>>
Circe: Oh. Uhhhh. Whoopsie?
Penny: Hmmph. It’s Monday.

Two hours later
USS1: You know i really appreciate ur reading my essay.

Thirty minutes later
USS1: And i definitely meant what i said about dinner. There’s this nice little place by the mall…

Three hours later
Penandpol@gmail.com to USS1@gmail.com: Your incomplete essay about the effects of blade shape on rotation and helicopter flight (or at least I think that’s what it was about since you didn’t write a CONCLUSION) is attached, with my comments, to this email. Next time you might want to try writing in complete thoughts. Best of luck, Penny.

SMS Adventures with Unfortunately Smug Sailor 2

USS2: So, you’re a really good dancer. I’m glad we met last night.
Penny: Gee, thanks.
USS2: What did you get up to today?
Penny: Nothing special. Catching up on housework I don’t have time for during the week.
USS2: Yea, I did some laundry.

Meanwhile
Circe: Cute Baby Sailor is texting me!
Penny: That’s nice. His friend USS2 is texting me, as well.
Circe: Yea, they’re at [Local Pub] tonight.

USS2: So, what are you doing tonight? CBS and I are at [Local Pub] if you want to join.
Penny: Oh, thanks, but I’m good with my book, tea and leggings.
USS2: Oh? What are you reading?
Penny: Hunting and Gathering by Anna Gavalda.
USS2: Never heard of her.
Penny: Probably because it’s translated from the French.
USS2: You’re smart. That’s hot.
Penny: Thanks?

Meanwhile
Circe: Are you going to go to [Local Pub]?
Penny: It’s Sunday. After 7. No.
Circe: Oh. Right.
Circe: But maybe for a little while?
Penny: I mean, you can go. I have a book.
Circe: You are EIGHTY.

USS2: So, tell me something interesting about yourself.
Penny: You first.
USS2: Sassy. I like that.
USS2: I want to be an astronaut.

Meanwhile
Penny: He did NOT just tell me that the most interesting thing about him is that he wants to be an astronaut.
Circe: What’s wrong with that?
Penny: Every little boy wants to be an astronaut.
Circe: Yea, but this one actually has a shot.

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Furor Scribendi

the rage for writing

highfiverson

Just another WordPress.com site

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

I'm Just Sayin'

Are You SURE I Don't Get Paid for This?

The Hand-Written Life

The Official Website of Andrea Kelly

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

J-Bo.net

The Unadulterated Truth

Blurg.

this is Val.

Can I Get Ur Number?

Answering the question "Why Am I Single?" one post at a time...

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

