Soul Songs

29 Aug

That song that is always and without fail on the tip of your tongue when you feel the urge to burst forth with sudden, glorious, tuneful gusto? THAT song? It’s your faveeeeeoriteeeeeee, right?

Yea, well.

There’s a song that’s insiiiiide of my souuuuuuuuulllllll.

And I hate it.

I start to sing and ZEUSDAMMIT, Penny. That will not be the song inside your soul. Refuse to sing! (Hysterical denials and much foot stomping ensues.) And then I end up not singing at all, which I wanted to do because I like singing, and everyone is unhappy, including that guy I just cut off because if I can’t sing to amuse myself I’m going to change lanes.

Sigh. But the thing is…

It really, really is the song inside my soul.

In the car. In the shower. When I’m cleaning the kitchen.

The Itsy Bitsy Spider can’t even help me get rid of this one (did you know this?? did you?! If a song is stuck in your head, sing the Itsy Bitsy Spider with hand motions and woosh! Gone.) because this song isn’t in my head. As mentioned above, it is inside my soul.

So what do you do when the song that’s inside your soul isn’t the song you want inside your soul?

Search for a new one!

Consciously sing it every day!

Get almost but not quite tired of it!

Forget that that other song was ever inside your soul!!

Wait four months.

Start unconsciously humming to yourself one day at work.

Pause. Realize you were humming.

Frown. Remember what you were humming.

Refrain from banging your head against the desk and unnecessarily alarming your boss.

2 Responses to “Soul Songs”

  1. Sotorya (Tory) August 30, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

    Now I need to know which song it is?

    and how does one figure out what song is inside of their soul?

    • Hippolyta (Polly) August 30, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Furor Scribendi

the rage for writing

highfiverson

Just another WordPress.com site

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

I'm Just Sayin'

Are You SURE I Don't Get Paid for This?

The Hand-Written Life

The Official Website of Andrea Kelly

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

J-Bo.net

Life at 30: The Unadulterated Truth

Blurg.

this is Val.

Can I Get Ur Number?

Answering the question "Why Am I Single?" one post at a time...

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

