Misfired Arrows – Circe’s Adventures on OkCupid: The Advances of Delusional Salsa Dancer

20 Aug

The following misadventures in love/online dating are brought to you by Circe, who’d like to point out to a certain matchmaking god that his virtual arrows rarely hit their targets. (Unlike her poison darts…)

SMS from DSD: How have you been? It’s been awhile since I’ve seen you. If you’re hungry, you should drop by. Just finished making sesame chicken with rice!

Date 1 Flashback – Dinner and salsa dancing

DSD: You seem like a really nice girl, so why are you single?

Circe: It’s hard to say really… could be that my pet chinchilla sleeps in my bed with me, or that I have an uncle dad. Then there’s the collection of human skulls lining the bookshelves in my bedroom (come to think of it, perhaps I should find a more inconspicuous place to keep those). Or perhaps my vagina spear**, that tends to be a turnoff. Yes, definitely the vagina spear.

Guess I just haven’t found anyone yet. And I recently got out of a long term relationship.

DSD: Oh, me too! How long was yours?

Circe: Two years. You?

DSD: Ten years.

Circe: How old ARE you?

*Cut to later that evening at the salsa club aka abandoned warehouse in the ghetto*

DSD: Wow, so you’ve done this before, huh?

Circe: A few times…

DSD: I just started last week, but I have given myself 2 months to master salsa. Then I’m moving on to Bachata. I’m also working on tight rope walking now as well, got 2 weeks left to become a master!

Circe: Wow, that’s…ambitious. Or slightly insane. Does this guy ever sleep?
I can’t say I have that many hobbies, but I’m taking a hip hop class right now.

DSD: That’s awesome? What’s the name of the studio? What day is your class? What time?

Circe: Haha funny.

DSD: No seriously, I want to come watch your class!

Circe: Yep, definitely insane.  Umm I don’t think I would be comfortable with that, I just met you.

DSD: Please? I’ll be really quiet. You won’t even know I’m there.

Circe: You know, I’m really tired, I think I’m gonna head home. And lock all of my doors. And possibly change my phone number.

DSD: I can take you home! Where do you live? I can make you a nice elderberry cocktail. I’m also working on becoming a licensed bartender. Or would you prefer coffee? I recently flew to Ecuador to pick my own beans and I have a small roaster in my apartment.

Circe: I’d rather spend a romantic evening with Uncle Dad. No thanks, I drove myself. For just this eventuality.

**Note: Vagina spears are a better alternative to the also fictional “shutting down” method popularized by Rep. Todd Akin.**

One Response to “Misfired Arrows – Circe’s Adventures on OkCupid: The Advances of Delusional Salsa Dancer”

  1. virtuous and beautiful September 20, 2012 at 1:56 am #

    This conversation actually sounds like something that happens often.

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Furor Scribendi

the rage for writing

highfiverson

Just another WordPress.com site

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

I'm Just Sayin'

Are You SURE I Don't Get Paid for This?

The Hand-Written Life

The Official Website of Andrea Kelly

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

J-Bo.net

Life at 30: The Unadulterated Truth

Blurg.

this is Val.

Can I Get Ur Number?

Answering the question "Why Am I Single?" one post at a time...

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

