The Necessity of Nicknames

7 Aug

Or, How to Keep Friends’ Friends/Boyfriends/Crushes Straight

Polly: Ohmyzeus [POLLY’S FRIEND] is coming into town this weekend!
Penny: [POLLY’S FRIEND]?
Polly: You know, the high school friend with whom I think I could spend the rest of my life were geographical situations more accommodating?
Penny: Uhhh… the one from [MY CITY]??
Polly: No, no the other one. The one with the nose I find inexplicably attractive.
Penny: Riiight. Jewish Adonis from [THAT OTHER CITY].
Polly: Why do you insist on calling him that? His name is [POLLY’S FRIEND].
Penny: <<mutters>> I can’t keep track of every Tom, Dick or Harry in your life. It all makes me very verklempt!
Polly: What?
Penny: You know, overcome with emotion in a Yiddish sort of way (keeping with the theme).
Polly: Oy vey, Pen. I know my Yiddish. I was referring to your inability to keep up with my ubiquitously-named potential soul mates.
Penny: Don’t you have trouble distinguishing between Poopface and Smith Boy and Soundcheck Guy?
Polly: Poopface, in his eternal stenchiness, is never difficult to distinguish.
Penny: Ok, poor example on my part. But don’t you think, what with the whole having separate friend groups thing, we need names to be, well, descriptive?
Polly: [POLLY’S FRIEND] is descriptive! It’s his name.
Penny: It’s also That Boy from Sophomore Calculus’ name and Former Latte Boy’s name and…
Polly: <<interrupts>> Okay, okay! Point made. Jewish Adonis, it is.

(If you thought keeping up with an anonymous blog was confusing for you readers, rest assured that we are just as puzzled.)

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Furor Scribendi

the rage for writing

highfiverson

Just another WordPress.com site

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

I'm Just Sayin'

Are You SURE I Don't Get Paid for This?

The Hand-Written Life

The Official Website of Andrea Kelly

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

J-Bo.net

The Unadulterated Truth

Blurg.

this is Val.

Can I Get Ur Number?

Answering the question "Why Am I Single?" one post at a time...

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

