Pitch Perfect: “Crushed it”

11 Oct

Bumper: I have a feeling we should kiss.
Fat Amy: I sometimes have a feeling I could do crystal meth, but then I think hmmm, better not.

After watching this movie, I only have two words: Rebel Wilson. Who’da thunk that Kristen Wiig’s uncomfortably weird, cringe inducing, possibly incestuous, and seemingly unnecessary-to-the-plot roommate with the infected mexican drinking worm tattoo from Bridesmaids would actually steal the show. I certainly didn’t see it coming, but after her hysterical performance as Fat Amy in Pitch Perfect, this Australian’s star is definitely rising (if you don’t believe me, ask the wasted girls who were popping champagne in the theatre behind me that yelled “I LOVE FAT AMY” every time she came on screen).

Fun fact: Not only does she have a name that literally means bad ass, her sisters’ names are Liberty, Ryot, and Annachi (this one especially cracks me up…spelled phonetically for Australian pronunciation). Basically a family of bad ass bitches.

Fat Amy aside (although not for long because seriously, how awesome was she?), Skylar Astin (Jesse) just might be my new celebrity crush. He achieved an excellent balance of hot and quirky (my favorite combo) and as a result totally captures the audience’s hearts. Or at least mine. (Skylar, if you’re reading this, call me.)

Musically this movie was also very satisfying. As a former roommate of a college a capella director (Penny) with the aural scars to prove it (one can only listen to random notes repeated over and over on the keyboard and intermittent beatboxing for so long while trying to read Nietzsche without starting to think maybe God really is dead…), I can appreciate a good harmony. And I seriously cannot get Anna Kendrick and Brittany Snow’s “Titanium” duet out of my head. And I saw the movie a week ago. Not to mention the bomb ass version of “No Diggity” that brought me back to my middle school days of listening to music that was totally age inappropriate now that I look back on it…

All in all, this movie pretty much rocked my socks. If I had to describe it without the words Rebel Wilson, I would say Bridesmaids meets Glee.

For now, I leave you with this:

One Response to “Pitch Perfect: “Crushed it””

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to Write a Thank You Note After an Interview: | The Preppy Post Grad - February 12, 2014

    […] Image from Penny and Polly […]

Leave a Reply

Furor Scribendi

the rage for writing

highfiverson

Just another WordPress.com site

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

I'm Just Sayin'

Are You SURE I Don't Get Paid for This?

The Hand-Written Life

The Official Website of Andrea Kelly

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

Adulthood... if I must.

The Unadulterated Truth About Life in my Late Twenties

Blurg.

this is Val.

Can I Get Ur Number?

Answering the question "Why Am I Single?" one post at a time...

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

